British Columbia & Vancouver Island Stamps

The Colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, in 1860, issued a postage stamp inscribed with both the names of British Columbia and Vancouver Island. This initiative was taken for economical reasons. In September 1865, Vancouver Island issued its own 5- and 10-cent stamps. In November 1865, British Columbia also began issuing its own stamps. On July 20, 1871, British Columbia joined the Dominion of Canada.